The visual model you see on each page is also a simple navigational tool. Click or tap on an object in the visual to be taken to that specific webpage content.
Image Map

Flipped Classrooms Faculty Learning Community

It’s not about technology! It’s a way to better engage our students in the essential process of learning. (FLC Group Quote)

In the fall of 2013, 10 USF faculty members from the College of Arts and Sciences, School of Management, and School of Nursing and Health Professions agreed to participate in the University’s first attempt at faculty learning communities (FLC). A mutual interest in learning more about the new instructional strategy of “flipping the classroom.” None of the members professed expertise with this approach, but everyone wanted to explore the topic with other faculty members in a mutually supportive and curious environment. And thus the year-long adventure began.

FLC Members

Jennifer Chubb, Assistant Professor
Mathematics Department
College of Arts and Sciences
jcchubb@usfca.edu

Shawn Doubiago, Adjunct Professor
Modern and Classical Languages, Comparative Literature and Culture Department
College of Arts and Sciences
scdoubiago@usfca.edu

Michael L. Duffy, Professor
School of Management
mduffy3@usfca.edu

Monika Hudson, Assistant Professor
Entrepreneurship, Innovation and Strategy Department
Director, Gellert Family Business Resource Center
School of Management
mhudson@usfca.edu

EJ Jung, Associate Professor
Director, Computer Science for San Francisco Youth summer camp
Computer Science Department
College of Arts and Sciences
ejung@cs.usfca.edu

Lois Lorentzen, Professor
Theology and Religious Studies, Environmental Science Departments
Director, Center for Latino Studies in the Americas (CELASA)
College of Arts and Sciences
lorentzen@usfca.edu

Tom MacDonald, Associate Professor
Environmental Science/Management Department and International Studies Program
College of Arts and Sciences
macdonaldt@usfca.edu

Myrtis Mixon, Adjunct Professor
Rhetoric and Language, Academic English for Multilingual Students Departments
College of Arts and Sciences
mmixon@usfca.edu

Susan Prion, Associate Professor
Associate Director, Center for Teaching Excellence
Associate Director, Vietnam Nurse Project
School of Nursing and Health Professions
prions@usfca.edu

Karyn Schell, Associate Professor
Modern and Classical Languages, Spanish Studies Department College of Arts and Sciences
kschell@usfca.edu

The Chapters

This website consists of 8 major chapters (including this page). The chapters are intended to be used sequentially, but we’ve divided them up for easy navigation.

Use the CTE Lounge link at the far right of the menu navigation to return to the main CTE Lounge webpage.

The chapters are: